Case Summary (G.R. No. L-54140)
Factual Background
In Civil Case No. 109911, plaintiff Choa Tiek Seng filed a complaint on August 3, 1977 against Filipino Merchants Insurance Company, Inc. to recover under a marine insurance policy on cargo. Choa alleged that goods he insured with the petitioner sustained loss and damage amounting to P35,987.26. The vessel SS Frotario, owned and operated by private respondent Frota Oceanica Brasiliera (Frota), discharged the goods at the port of Manila on December 13, 1976. The goods were delivered to the arrastre operator, E. Razon, Inc., on December 17, 1976, and were received by the consignee-plaintiff on the same date, December 17, 1976.
After the petitioner filed its amended answer on December 19, 1977, disclaiming liability and counterclaiming for damages, it filed on January 9, 1978 a third-party complaint against the carrier (Frota) and other parties for indemnity, subrogation, or reimbursement in the event the petitioner was held liable to the plaintiff.
In Civil Case No. 110061, Joseph Benzon Chua filed a complaint on August 10, 1977 against the same petitioner for recovery under another marine insurance policy on cargo. Chua alleged that goods insured with the petitioner sustained loss and damage in the amount of P55,996.49. The goods were delivered to the consignee-plaintiff on or about January 25 to 28, 1977. The petitioner answered on May 31, 1978, and on September 28, 1978 it filed an amended third-party complaint against respondent carrier, the Australia-West Pacific Line (Australia-West).
Trial Court Proceedings
In both civil cases, the private respondents filed answers and then moved for preliminary hearing on their affirmative defense of prescription. They maintained that the petitioner was barred because, under the Carriage of Goods by Sea Act, any suit against the carrier and the ship for loss or damage must be filed within one year after delivery of the goods or the date when they should have been delivered. The petitioner argued that the one-year limitation applied only to the shipper and did not bind an insurer. It also argued that the time for filing a third-party complaint should be reckoned from the filing of the main action, because the third-party complaint was merely incidental to the main suit.
On April 30, 1980, the respondent judge in Civil Case No. 109911 upheld Frota’s defense and dismissed the petitioner’s third-party complaint. On August 31, 1982, the respondent judge in Civil Case No. 110061 likewise dismissed the petitioner’s third-party complaint against Australia-West, holding that the amended third-party complaint was filed beyond the prescriptive period provided in Section 3(6) of the Carriage of Goods by Sea Act of 1936.
Issues Raised on Appeal
The petitioner appealed on a pure question of law. It asked whether the one-year prescriptive period under Section 3(6) of the Carriage of Goods by Sea Act applies to an insurer that seeks to recover from the carrier and ship. The petitioner maintained that the insurer could not be considered among the persons contemplated by the statutory clause that permits suit within one year, because the insurer had not settled the insured’s claim and could not be charged with the duty or right to give notice of loss or to sue the carrier within the statutory period. It further contended that because the third-party complaint is only an incident of the main action, its filing period should be reckoned from the filing date of the principal case, namely the time when the insured sued the insurer.
The respondents countered that the one-year prescriptive period applies equally to claims asserted by an insurer standing as a subrogee, and that the third-party complaint cannot be considered filed from the filing of the main action, since it is separate and distinct from the insured’s action.
Legal Basis: Section 3(6) and Its Purpose
The controlling statutory text quoted in the decision was Section 3(6) of the Carriage of Goods by Sea Act, which addresses notice of loss or damage and provides that, in any event, the carrier and the ship shall be discharged from liability in respect of loss or damage unless suit is brought within one year after delivery of the goods or the date when the goods should have been delivered. The proviso also stated that failure to give notice as provided does not affect the right of the shipper to bring suit within one year.
The Supreme Court relied on the earlier ruling in Chua Kuy v. Everett Steamship Corporation (93 Phil. 207, 213-214), which rejected the argument that the one-year prescriptive period could be invoked only by the shipper and not by other parties. In Chua Kuy, the Court explained that the statutory scheme requires notice not necessarily only by the shipper but also by the consignee or other legal holder of the bill of lading, and that the proviso was intended to limit the filing within one year after delivery, not to exclude other proper parties from suing within that period.
The Court further reasoned that allowing an insurer to sue the carrier after the one-year limitation would permit the prohibited result to be achieved indirectly: the shipper or owner could be time-barred, yet the insurer could still proceed against the carrier and the ship after the period had lapsed. Such an interpretation would render the one-year limitation practically useless and would undermine the Act’s purpose of protecting carriers and ships from fraudulent claims and of ensuring that matters affecting sea carriage are decided as soon as possible, without delaying settlement.
Court’s Reasoning on Prescription Against the Insurer
Applying Chua Kuy, the Supreme Court held that the coverage of the Carriage of Goods by Sea Act includes the insurer of the goods. The Court emphasized that if the insurer were allowed to proceed without being bound by the time-bar, the one-year limitation could be circumvented by filing a claim against the insurer even after the carrier’s protection had attached. The Court found that this could not have been the legislative intention.
The Court also cited Aetna Insurance Co. v. Luzon Stevedoring Corporation (62 SCRA 11, 15), where it had denied an insurer’s appeal because the insurer’s action against the carrier was filed after the one-year period had already expired, and the Court had held that the one-year period commenced upon delivery of the damaged cargo to the consignee.
Consistently with those precedents, the Supreme Court agreed with the trial courts that the petitioner’s third-party claims were barred by prescription because they were filed beyond the one-year period prescribed by Section 3(6). The Court thus rejected the petitioner’s theory that the insurer was outside the statutory time-bar merely because it was not the shipper who delivered the notice or who originally sued within the statutory period.
Court’s Reasoning on the Third-Party Complaint Timing
The Supreme Court further agreed with respondents that the petitioner’s third-party complaint could not be treated as timely by reckoning its filing from the date the insured filed the principal action. The Court recognized that a third-party complaint may be characterized as ancillary to the main action in Eastern Assurance and Surety Corporation v. Cui (105 SCRA 622); however, the Court held that it does not abridge, enlarge, or modify substantive rights of any litigant. A third-party complaint creates no substantive rights. Therefore, unless there is some substantive basis for the third-party plaintiff’s claim, the filing cannot be used to acquire a right of action against a third-party defendant.
The Court articulated the critical point in the case: the petitioner could only file a third-party complaint against the respondents if it could still validly maintain an action against them. Here, the petitioner’s action had prescribed under the Carriage of Goods by Sea Act. Thus, whether it filed a third-party complaint or chose to pursue an independent action was immaterial, because in both scenarios the one-year statutory bar controlled.
Application to the Concrete Cases and Disposition
The Supreme Court addressed the practical consequences of the rule in the manner of the decision. It observed that where a shipper or insured files an action against the insurer after the one-year prescriptive period for suit against the carrier has already lapsed, the insurer would have been able to deny liability on prescription grounds because the insured’s late action would prevent subrogation from being effectively asserted against the carrier within the time-bar. The Court noted that su
...continue reading
Case Syllabus (G.R. No. L-54140)
- Filipino Merchants Insurance Company, Inc. filed two consolidated petitions challenging the dismissal of its third-party complaints against ocean carriers in two Civil Cases pending before the Court of First Instance of Manila.
- The central controversy involved whether the one-year period under Section 3(6) of the Carriage of Goods by Sea Act of 1936 applied to an insurer that sought to pursue the carrier after an adverse or asserted liability to the insured.
- The Court treated the legal question as one of pure question of law, and it sustained the lower courts’ rulings.
Parties and Procedural Posture
- Petitioner was Filipino Merchants Insurance Company, Inc., which issued marine insurance policy coverage for cargo.
- Respondents were the presiding judges of the relevant branches of the Court of First Instance of Manila, and the associated carrier respondents were Frota Oceanica Brasiliera and Australia-West Pacific Line in the respective cases.
- In Civil Case No. 109911, plaintiff Choa Tiek Seng sued the petitioner for recovery under the insurance policy on cargo.
- In Civil Case No. 110061, Joseph Benzon Chua sued the petitioner for recovery under a similar marine insurance policy on cargo.
- In both civil cases, the petitioner, after filing responsive pleadings, filed third-party complaints against the carriers, seeking indemnity, subrogation, or reimbursement.
- The carrier respondents raised prescription as an affirmative defense, invoking the one-year limitation in Section 3(6) of the Carriage of Goods by Sea Act.
- The trial court in Civil Case No. 109911 dismissed the petitioner’s third-party complaint.
- The trial court in Civil Case No. 110061 dismissed the petitioner’s third-party complaint for being filed beyond the prescriptive period under Section 3(6).
- The petitioner appealed by raising the sole issue of whether the one-year prescriptive period also bound an insurer.
Key Factual Allegations
- In Civil Case No. 109911, Choa Tiek Seng filed the complaint on August 3, 1977 for recovery of P35,987.26 under the marine insurance policy for cargo.
- The goods were discharged at the port of Manila by the vessel SS Frotario on December 13, 1976.
- The goods were delivered to the arrastre operator E. Razon, Inc. on December 17, 1976, and the consignee-plaintiff received them on the same date.
- On December 19, 1977, the petitioner filed an amended answer, disclaiming liability and asserting fraud by the plaintiff, and it also counterclaimed for damages.
- On January 9, 1978, the petitioner filed a third-party complaint against the carrier Frota Oceanica Brasiliera and the arrastre contractor E. Razon, Inc. for indemnity, subrogation, or reimbursement if held liable to the plaintiff.
- In Civil Case No. 110061, Joseph Benzon Chua filed a complaint on August 10, 1977 for recovery under the marine insurance policy for cargo amounting to P55,996.49.
- The goods in Civil Case No. 110061 were delivered to the plaintiff-consignee on or about January 25–28, 1977.
- On September 28, 1978, the petitioner filed an amended third-party complaint against the carrier Australia-West Pacific Line.
- The carrier respondents’ answers and the subsequent motions for preliminary hearing focused on prescription under Section 3(6) of the Carriage of Goods by Sea Act.
- The Court noted that in both cases the petitioner had a limited time after the insured suit and after receipt of goods to file appropriate actions, yet it failed to do so within the relevant period.
Statutory Framework
- The dispositive statutory provision was Section 3(6) of the Carriage of Goods by Sea Act of 1936, which required specific notice for loss or damage.
- Section 3(6) provided that, in any event, the carrier and the ship would be discharged from liability in respect of loss or damage unless suit was brought within one year after delivery of the goods or the date the goods should have been delivered.
- The provision also contained a notice mechanism, including a requirement that notice be given at the port of discharge before or at the time of removal of the goods, and within three days if the loss or damage was not apparent.
- The statute recognized that failure to give notice as provided did not prejudice the shipper’s right to sue within one year, provided that the action was still timely within the statutory period.
- The Court treated the one-year limitation as a substantive time-bar tied to the carrier’s and ship’s liability for loss or damage, and it linked the purpose of the provision to prompt resolution.
Issues Presented
- The principal issue was whether the one-year period under Section 3(6) applied to an insurer that pursued a carrier action through subrogation after being sued by the insured.
- A subsidiary issue concerned the petitioner’s contention that the period for filing a third-party complaint should be counted from the filing of the main action.
- The related issue was whether filing a third-party complaint could avoid or circumvent the statutory time-bar by characterizing the third-party complaint as ancillary to the main acti